Vista Disk Imaging

April 10, 2007

I’ve just recently finished building my shiny new Windows Vista driven Media Center PC, which is now happily serving all sorts of content from under my television. Its taken me a long time to get the configuration right, and solve various teething troubles with the TV Tuner and wireless networking. So, time to take an image!

My first thought was perhaps use Norton Ghost, I thought I’d have a Google first though…Good move as I found there is a disk imaging tool built into Vista! Its a simple command line tool called ‘ImageX’ and runs from either the command prompt or from Vistas Preinstallation environment. This means you can script the image creation, and of course restore from an image without too much hassle.

Although ImageX is primarily designed as an operating system roll out tool, it could easily be used as a system backup tool too. Well worth checking out, follow the link below for more info:

Microsoft TechNet – Windows Vista Disk Imaging

Leave a Reply

