Back to it!

September 7, 2007

I’m back! I’ve been off running, cycling and weight training for the last 4-5 weeks due to a nasty virus that zapped me of energy, and then a horrible bad back (Very tight lower back muscles).

Pleased to say I am well on the mend, and back into it full on!
(Ok, not 100% cos the back is still a bit dodgy, but I am mentally there 100%!!)

I am aiming to get as fit as possible for early November when I will be running Hellrunner – 12 miles round Longmoor Army camp, Hampshire.

I am going to the gym 3 times a week during which I am doing heavier sessions than before, still concentrating on upper body. I never really felt the burn properly with my old schedule, I think the instructor at the gym gave me quite a gentle beginners setup, which is fair enough because I did go in a newbie!

I am doing 3 runs a week – Currently 3 x 5km, but starting next week I will be doing 2 x 5km and 1 x 10km. I need to get some hill work in for Hellrunner, but will leave that until late in the training as its the last thing my back needs right now.

On top of that I am cycling to/from work 5 days a week – Ok, its only a 4 mile round trip, but it is a rather hilly journey, and it all helps – I am trying to ride at around 80% effort, which should help towards increasing my cardio fitness.

Of course, I am still going to kick boxing class once a week, which has increased intensity recently (A good thing!), this also means plenty of stretching, which helps strength and injury prevention, along with muscle elasticity which I am told should improve running speed.

Also trying to sleep and eat well (Possibly the bits I find hardest!)

So – Hard training for the next 6 weeks, followed by 2 weeks of tapering…Then its off to Longmoor Camp for the Hills of Hell and Bogs of Doom!

Leave a Reply

