Wimborne 10 Mile Race

November 18, 2007

Today I ran the Wimborne 10 mile race which took an undulating route around Generally quite a fast course, although the final hill provided quite a challenge!

I finished in position 287 out of 487 runners, with a time of 1:22:11 [See Official Results] which I was please with as this took 4min 10sec off my 10 mile personal best – I believe I would have done better than that had the weather been slightly better – It was a cold day, add to that the heavy rain and wind it was nothing short of atrocious!

The first finisher was Willard Chinhanhu who came in with an amazing time of 51:37 (Shown in photo)

The race was very well run, obviously alot of planning as everything seemed to go smoothly, including the dramatic muskett start by the Wimborne town cryer, which seemed to wake everyone up! The marshalls were excellent with plenty of encouragement and smiles. I am now making an effort to give marshals a smile and a thumbs up during races – especially ones like today where they stand there in the cold and rain for 2 hours!

At the end of the race we were given our shirts (Long sleeve shirts, which made a nice change) and hot drinks and cakes which were very popular!

I’ll be adding this one to my regular race diary – Very local to me, and over all an excellent race.

Leave a Reply

