Downton Half Marathon

November 26, 2007

On Sunday myself and a friend ran the Downton Half Marathon, which was organised by Race New Forest (extremely well organised too!)

It was a very hilly course (By my standards anyway!) which took us from Downton to Hale Park, Hale, Hale Purlieu, around the borders of the New Forest before going back to the start via Wood Green. The fantastic scenery more than made up for the hills, as did the medal, t-shirt tea and cake at the end.

This was my first half marathon since the Fleet Half which I did back in March (2007). I was pleased to beat my previous time by some 18 minutes, with a chip time of 1:52:03, finishing 134th out of 238 runners.

Big congrats to my friend Steve who finished 29th with a time of 01:36:24, and well done to Race New Forest for putting on another excellent event!

I’m looking to take this time down to on or below 1:45:00 in the 2008 Fleet Half, which I have already signed up for!

Leave a Reply

