Is your FireFox 3.0 Hanging?

July 3, 2008

It seems FireFox 3.0 has a rather nasty bug making it somewhat unstable. It will hang regularly, in my case getting stuck in memory (Task manager > processes > End task didn’t work).

Luckily, there is an easy fix. Go to: Tools > Options > Security

Untick both of the following:
‘Tell me if the site I’m visiting is a suspected attack site’
‘Tell me if the site I’m visiting is a suspected forgery’

I found this helped matters a great deal. Browsing seems a lot quicker (Back to the speeds I enjoyed with FireFox 2.x and so far it hasn’t crashed once. Obviously be aware that unticking these options will of course stop them working, which may put you at greater risk of spyware, viruses and phishing. Personally I am going to wait until the next update is released and try to re-enable them.

I’m sure it wont be long, considering FireFox 3 has been downloaded over 29m times since its release! (As of today! If you are as sad as me, you can click here to see the latest FireFox 3 download stats!)

Leave a Reply

