New Forest Half Marathon

September 24, 2008

On Sunday, I ran the New Forest Half Marathon. My race number arrived in the post Friday morning, sent my my brother-in-law who had decided not to compete.

After nearly 4 months off running, apart from the occasional jog, I wasnt sure if I would be able to even finish, let alone achieve a reasonable time. I had commenced my Hell Runner 2008 traning about 3 weeks back, but this had only got me up to about 4 miles.

I decided to give it a go, and to run at a slow pace, staying at around 9 min/mile pace, using the race as both a training run and to get an idea of how (un)fit I was!

Happy to say I finished with a time of 1:58:53, which I wasnt too dis-pleased with, even though my previous personal best for a half marathin was 1:52:03, on a course with more hills.

The race was very well organised, marshalls were excellent as were the drink station helpers who were also giving water soaked sponges out – A nice extra on what turned out to be a quite a hot day! There was quite good spectator support along the route – plenty of smiley, clapping people to keep us going.

My only regret – Adding a new tune to my iPod running play list ‘Kleerup Feat Robyn – With Every Heartbeat’, great song, but the lyrics include the words…
“I’m dying with every step I take”

:o)

Leave a Reply

