SharePoint – Cannot Login!

October 30, 2008

I went to login to a SharePoint (MOSS 2007) based website this morning to carry out some basic page updates. After entering the normal domain\username and password, I was again prompted for the credentials, which I knew I had entered correctly.

After checking with my collgues that the password had not been changed, I logged onto the server via remote desktop and checked the event log, which had quite a few of these:

Windows cannot determine the user or computer name. (There are no more endpoints available from the endpoint mapper

Solution: Remove the machine from the domain (i.e. Join it to a workgroup), reboot, rejoin the domain (Which re-creates the computer account), reboot. After doing this I was able to login without issue.

Leave a Reply

