Marathon Training Update :(

July 27, 2009

My first two weeks of training for the new forest marathon are complete – training 6 days a week, with weights and kick boxing on rest days, I was feeling stronger,  faster and mentally building up well toward the goal of running 26.2 miles. Then I got ill – Nothing major, just a virus of some sort that made me extremely tired and after 2 days turned into a chest infection which means no running at all.

So, here I am having not run for 10 days, looking at the training session markers on my calendar tick by with the 27th September (Race day) approaching.

For now I’m going to concentrate on getting better – Which means lots of sleep, fluids and decent food, then I’ll start running again, initially just a couple of miles per day for maybe 3 days before getting back on schedule. My training plan will need to be re-worked as I have now missed two long runs – Just hoping I can reach my goal of comfortably running 18 miles before 20th September when I start tapering/carb loading.

Leave a Reply

